Mrs. Jackson Cooks

Life through food

The fry-up meets Mexico

on October 19, 2010

Please bear with me, I’m settling into this still. Finding my voice and all that. I realised after the first post, it needs to be shorter and the photos need to come first. So I’ll be trying that, and to continue with contrariness, I don’t actually have photos for this post! I was too hungry to take them. By the time I thought of it, I’d eaten it all!

This is a recipe I created from at least 2 different recipes, but isn’t actually anything like either of them so I reckon I can claim it as my own.

I think it’s a fab alternative to the great British fry up. I agree, there are times when only a fry up will do, but if you’re looking for something with slightly less calories (although not much less, I admit) and can be done a lot quicker (no waiting around for the toast and the sausages!) with a bit of a spicy kick, then this is it. This is so quick and simple to make and will sort those hangover (or any for that matter) hunger pains in no time. Plus, because you can wrap it up, its a good breakfast on the go.

The breakfast burrito

Serves 4 (or 2 if you’re very hungry)

4 flour tortillas

200 ml passata/tomato puree

150g refried pinto beans

1tsp cayenne pepper

a dash of burrito spice mix

handful chopped fresh coriander

8 rashers bacon (6 if you’re on a diet or making it for 2) chopped into squares

8 large eggs

pepper

grated cheddar cheese to serve (optional for dieters, may also be replaced with guacamole and/or sour cream)

  1. Tip the passata and the beans into a saucepan, add the cayenne pepper and spice mix, bring to the boil and then simmer slowly until nice and thick. Once its really thick add the coriander, stir and then turn off the heat and keep warm til ready. If you don’t have refried beans – kidney beans, normal pinto beans, or even baked beans will do at a pinch. However you’ll need to add 1/2 tsp each of ground cumin and coriander and another teaspoon of cayenne pepper. And you may need to add some cornflour mixed with a bit of cold water to thicken it up. Tomato paste may also do the trick. If you’re of the spicier persuasion then some chopped Jalapenos in the sauce would be a nice extra.
  2. Heat the tortillas in a dry frying pan, about 30 seconds on each side until they’re starting to brown (but only just, you don’t want to burn them). Remove from pan and stack on a plate and keep warm.
  3. Add the bacon (any bacon will do, although I have a feeling that Pancetta would be gorgeous if you’re feeling extra special) to the frying pan that the tortillas were in. If you don’t have bacon, spicy sausage like chorizo or pepperoni would also be nice, or even minced beef. But be sure to cook the mince properly if using. Fry on a medium heat until it starts to get crispy and its released its fat. I don’t use oil because of the fat in the bacon but if you’re using very lean bacon or like a bit of extra oil then you may want some here.
  4. Beat the eggs in a bowl and add to the bacon when the bacon is nice and crispy, spread around the pan like an omlette. Don’t add salt because the bacon is often salty enough but you may want to add pepper. If using spicy sausage, don’t add any seasoning. When it starts to set, mess it up with your spatula so you get big fluffy flakes of egg and bacon.
  5. Now you need to start stacking! Take a tortilla put a great big dollop of the tomato and beans sauce and put it in the middle, then spread it out in a line down the centre of the tortilla. Next pile on the egg and bacon, and finally a sprinkling of cheese (or soured cream/guacamole). Fold the left side of the tortilla over the line of food and repeat with the right – like a baby in a blanket. And voila, the breakfast burrito. Stuff your face and enjoy.
4 responses to “The fry-up meets Mexico

  1. Kaz says:

    Hey hun, I was literally salivating when I got to the end of the recipe,
    and his sounds simple enough for even me to attepmt,
    I will give it a go on weekend 🙂

  2. Jo says:

    Congratulations on your blog so far, Mrs Jackson. I can’t write Mrs Jackson without thinking of that song with the line “I’m sorry Ms Jackson. I am for real…” Anyway, I’ve got that out of my system.

    I might just have to try cooking this one too. I mostly cook with great reluctance, but this does sound pretty quick, easy and tasty.

Leave a Reply

