Mrs. Jackson Cooks

Life through food

A different kind of omelette

on October 24, 2010

Enough with the cakes! I feel the need for something quick and healthy.

This is a new recipe for me. I didn’t take a photo because I didn’t know what it would taste like and besides it wasn’t very pretty on the plate. But despite that it was extremely tasty quick and easy to make. Perfect for breakfast or lunch. So I thought I’d share it with you anyway.

It’s from ravinder bhogal’s cook in boots book. It’s the masala omelette. I think what makes this stand out from other imparted is the spices. I have to say though, I added cheese!

I just want to say something on spices. I used to be intimidated by them. Exotic names, odd smells and shapes. But bit by bit I tried them in recipes and loved them. If you’re worried just start with a few basics. Cumin, coriander, turmeric, chilli powder, garam masala are all very common in indian dishes especially but also crop up in other places. ravinder is great at the whole fusion food thing and this recipe is the perfect example. Her book is great for introducing new spices in familiar foods. You can’t go wrong with ravinder if you want to try spice but are a bit scared of it.

Masala omelette

Serves 1

1 tbsp olive oil
1/2 red onion finely chopped
1 tsp cumin seeds
1 green chilli finely chopped
1 tomato finely chopped
2 eggs
1/2 tsp garam masala
Salt & pepper
1 tbsp chopped fresh coriander
30g grated cheddar cheese
Bread or pitta bread & sweet chilli sauce to serve

1. Pre heat the grill on high. Fry the onion, cumin and chilli ( don’t forget to de seed the chilli if you want to keep it mild) in the oil in a shallow frying pan on a medium heat until soft.

2. Beat the eggs in a bowl. Add masala, salt, pepper and coriander.

3. Pour eggs in frying pan and swish about into an omelette shape.

4. Once it’s cooked on the bottom sprinkle over the cheese. Pop under grill til cheese is melted and golden and eggs cooked.

5. Stuff in pittas or bread and drizzle over chilli sauce. And enjoy!

I have to say I’ve run out of coriander so I used parsley instead. coriander is probably better for the taste but I liked it with the parsley. Don’t feel like you can’t make something because you don’t have all the ingredients. Improvise or leave them out. After-all it’s your food and you’re doing the eating!

Leave a Reply

