Mrs. Jackson Cooks

Life through food

THE chocolate guinness cake

on October 24, 2010

Well today my new nephew was dedicated (like Christenings but without the water bit). So I offered to make the cake for the party afterwards. In the end, I decided to make two. Both were a hit, but this one got the most oohs and aahs. Don’t worry. The lemon drizzle cake will make it on here too.

I found this recipe on another cooking blog. It’s an adaptation of Nigella’s famous Chocolate Guinness Cake. I’ve never made either but chose this one because it had real chocolate in it (Nigella’s just uses cocoa powder) and yoghurt (Nigella uses soured cream). So here it is, courtesy of Gizzi Erskine

http://www.gizzierskine.com/recipes_chocolate_guinness_cake.asp

I have to say, I’ve never made this before yesterday, although I watched a friend make Nigella’s original cake before and remembered how good it was. I decided to try this because unlike many chocolate cakes, this one is very moist so works well with being made a day or two before (just make sure you don’t do the icing until the day as it’s cream cheese and cream!). I like Gizzi’s changes – I am a chocoholic and feel that chocolate cake does need actual chocolate in it and using yoghurt makes me feel it’s less calories (although it probably isn’t!) Besides I have yoghurt in the fridge normally but soured cream is something I’d buy in specially. I used Greek yoghurt as it’s thicker like soured cream.

And yes, to answer the people who asked – it does have Guinness in it – most of a can in fact. And yes the icing is made in that way to make it look like a pint of Guinness. And for those of you who are now worrying it’ll be yeasty or bitter – don’t worry there’s more than enough sugar in it to take care of that! But it’s not sickly sweet.

Gizzi reckons it makes 12 slices – I’d go with 20, unless you have a voracious appetite for rich things!

And to prove I’m human and not some weird kitchen goddess that doesn’t have a life – the cake sunk in the middle when I took it out the oven! So I cooled it upside down and so the sink was on the bottom! I turned it over when I wanted to ice it. No one gets it perfect all the time. But there are always ways around it when you do mess up! And if in in doubt, phone your mother (I did this the minute I noticed the sinkage!). If you need further proof I’m typing this listening to Katy Perry. I reckon Californian Girls wouldn’t dare eat this cake in case it ruined their surgeon’s work!

Gizzi’s version of Nigella’s Chocolate Guinness Cake

250ml Guinness

250g unsalted butter (or I used Stork because it was cheaper)

100g plain chocolate (minimum 70% cocoa solids)

35g cocoa powder

400g caster sugar

142ml plain yoghurt

2 eggs

1 tbsp vanilla extract

275g plain flour

2.5 tsp bicarbonate of soda

For the icing

300g cream cheese

150g icing sugar

125ml double or whipping cream

1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees centigrade. Butter and line a round loose bottom tin. I used a 9 1/4inch diameter tin.

2. Pour the Guinness in a large saucepan with the butter and heat until the butter is melted. When the butter is melted add the chcoolate, cocoa and sugar. When the chocolate is melted, remove from the heat.

3. Beat the yoghurt with the eggs and vanilla extract. Pour this in the chocolatey beery mix.

4. Add the flour and bicarb and whisk well to ensure it’s properly mixed. The bicarb will make the beer froth at this point, so take care.

5. Pour the cake mix in the cake tin and bake for 45mins to 1 hour. I found I needed an hour. Test with a knife – if it comes out clean it’s done. If you’re worried about the top burning turn the oven down slightly.

6. Leave to cool in the tin because it’s quite a gooey cake. When it’s nearly cooled, turn out onto a wire rack and cool completely.

7. To make the icing, lightly whip the cream cheese until smooth. Add the icing sugar and beat together until it goes smooth and yellow.

8. Whip the cream in a separate bowl until it thickens but retains its shape. Pour into the cream cheese mix and beat until combined and a spreadable consistency. Frost the top of cake in a thick layer like a Guinness top.

9. Marvel the beauty of it before devouring and marveling at its deliciousness!

Everyone loved this cake at the dedication. I had a slice and I have to say it’s even better than I remembered from the one my friend made. I reckon that’ll be the real chocolate in it!

3 responses to “THE chocolate guinness cake

  1. […] on the back of the success of the chocolate guinness cake I was inspired to think about beer cakes. And as I had some cherries in the fridge, left over from […]

  2. Thanks for this. It’s a fab cake and as the original recipe is no longer online I always come to your page for it 🙂

  3. Thanks for this. It’s a great cake and as the original recipe is no longer online I always come to your blog post for it 🙂

Leave a Reply

