Mrs. Jackson Cooks

Life through food

The other cake (lemon drizzle)

on October 25, 2010

This is the other cake for the dedication. This cake is very good as well and very different from the rich chocolate guinness cake. But I suppose by very virtue of the excitement of chocolate guinness this was somewhat overlooked.

I love lemon drizzle cakes because they’re quite refreshing and not too rich and lemons are gorgeous right now and plentiful in the shops.

This recipe is from another cooking blog. It’s weird, since starting this, I’m preferring cooking blog recipes to normal cooking recipe sites, although the BBCs Good Food is still one of my faves. I feel you get the experience and comment from the blogger that can make the difference. It’s not Nigella the domestic goddess or Delia the queen of cooking telling you what to do, it’s a normal person that’s tried it.

Well, this was a new recipe (although I’ve made lemon drizzle cakes before) so I thought I’d better taste it first before unleashing it on unknown people at the dedication. So I made 2! And it’s gorgeous and so it was duly unleashed.

This is from the Goddess Kitchen blog. I chose it because I like the gerbera she’s got on her header and it had ingredients I had in the cupboard. Some of the other recipes had all kinds of weird and wonderful things in them. This one is quite simple. Any way, Ms Goddess Kitchen got this from the Hairy Bikers. To be honest I never really quite got their thing, but this recipe is excellent. Just make sure to test the cake with knife before taking it out the oven, or it will collapse like mine did (don’t worry I turned it upside down and iced the bottom)!

http://thegoddesskitchen.blogspot.com/2010/02/lemon-drizzle-cake.html

I did a round one for the dedication and a loaf for trying out at home. More mix went in the round one so they weren’t quite half and half. Also, even with the loaf tin – there are way more than 10 slices that Ms Goddess implies – I’d go with 15, and about 20 in the round cake – again someone who wants death by cake!

I’ve actually written the recipe out differently from the one on the blog because this is the way I did it. I don’t have a large food processor since I gave it up for a small one for pastes and a smoothie maker for soups and drinks. I have no real need for a food processor and the ‘old fashioned’ method of making cakes works just as well.

The Hairy Bikers Lemon Drizzle Cake

zest of 2 unwaxed lemons and juice from 1/2 of one.

175g granulated sugar (this is normal sugar that you put in your tea)

175g unsalted butter (or stork in my case)

200g self-raising flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

3 large eggs

for the icing

100g granulated sugar

juice from 1 of the lemons

1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees centigrade. Grease and line a loaf tin (I used 9x4inch tin).

2. Cream the butter and sugar together until smooth and light.

3. Add the eggs one at a time to prevent curdling. If they do start to curdle add a tablespoon of the flour.

4. Mix in the lemon zest and juice. Then add the flour and baking powder and gently fold in until combined.

5. Pour the cake mix into the tin and bake for 35 minutes or until golden on top and the knife comes out clean.

6. Leave to cool for 5 minutes in the tin then turn out onto a wire rack (if you don’t have a proper one, I’ve used the metal bit of the grill before!)

7. To make the icing combine the lemon juice a tablespoon at a time with the sugar until it’s a thick syrup. When the cake has cooled, make lots of little holes all over it (with a fork or skewer) and drizzle the syrup over it. Leave to crystallise for 5 minutes and then repeat.

8. Serve with a nice cup of tea.

After all this cake it’s just as well I have a personal training session at the gym tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

