Mrs. Jackson Cooks

Life through food

carrot and coriander with a twist

on November 22, 2010

I thought I’d make some carrot and coriander soup because I had carrots that needed eating and it’s a nice and light lunch with leftovers for work the following week.  Turns out, I didn’t have as many carrots as I thought.   So I improvised and it became carrot, pepper and coriander soup because we seem to have a lot of peppers after my husband went shopping!

I also added some chilli because you know how I feel about chilli and my husband is growing about 5 chilli plants.  Given the time of year if the chillis aren’t used soon they’ll be no good.  Of course, you can leave them out all together if you’re a mild person, or just remove the seeds for less of a kick.

This is a great option for dieting, it’s low in calories, high in fibre and vegetable goodness.  Just have rice crackers or ryvita with it instead of bread.  I used low fat creme fraiche which is great for dieting, but yoghurt will do fine too.  Just make sure you slake it, which essentially means add about 2 teaspoons of the soup mix to the yoghurt and mix well before adding the yoghurt to the soup or the yoghurt will curdle from the heat.  Alternatively add it when the soup is cold if you’re not eating right away (i.e. making for work lunches).

So here’s my version of carrot and coriander, with some peppers too!  I think, if you roast the peppers first that would also give a really lovely flavour – I might try that next time – I was just hungry after a run and in a hurry for soup this time!

Carrot, pepper and coriander soup

Serves 4 (sort of)

1 tbsp oil (I used chilli oil)

1 medium onion chopped

2 garlic cloves finely chopped

350g carrots sliced

350g peppers (I used green) de-seeded and chopped

2 red chillis (de seeded if you don’t want it too spicy) & finely chopped

salt and pepper

1 litre chicken stock (or vegetable)

handful of fresh coriander chopped

handful of fresh parsley chopped

1 tbsp creme fraiche (or double cream or yoghurt – but slake the yoghurt first or add when the soup is cold)

  1. Heat the stock in a pan and keep warm
  2. Heat the oil in a large heavy saucepan
  3. Fry the onion, garlic, carrots and peppers on a low heat until softened and partially cooked but not coloured
  4. Add the chilli and seasoning and mix well.
  5. Add the stock to the vegetables, bring to the boil, cover and simmer on a low heat for about 25 minutes.
  6. Add the herbs to the soup mix.  And stir well.
  7. Take the soup of the heat and blend with a food processor, smoothie maker, or hand blender.
  8. Return to the saucepan and the heat.  Add the creme fraiche.  If the soup needs thickening then reduce on the stove and if too thick add a little water.
  9. Turn into bowls and serve with fresh crusty bread and enjoy!
Leave a Reply

