Mrs. Jackson Cooks

Life through food

When you run out of alternatives…apple, cranberry and almond crumble

on December 7, 2010

I ran out of ideas to cook the apples and succumbed to crumble.  But it’s just so simple, and it’s actually not that bad for dieting.  I don’t use that much sugar and I use low fat margerine instead of butter.

I bought some dried cranberries but I couldn’t remember what for, so I thought some of them may as well put them in.  This was one of those recipes that I just added stuff as I went along.  I’ve never actually written down a crumble recipe.  I got it from my mum and the rest I just make up as I feel like as I make it.

So, this is different every time, but this is what I did this time.  I loved the almonds in this, like soft fruit and crunchy almonds – mixed in with the crumble mix its all different sensations at once.  In fact, just thinking about it makes me want to make crumble now.

Apple, cranberry and almond crumble

Serves 6(ish)

6 apples

100g dried cranberries

2 handfuls of blanched flaked almonds

200g plain flour

100g butter or margerine

50g soft brown sugar

  1. Preheat the oven at 200 degrees celsius.
  2. Core and chop the apples (no need to peel).  Place them in a baking dish.  Add the cranberries and a handful of the almonds.
  3. Chop the butter into little squares and put in a bowl.  Add the flour and rub the two together with your fingers until you have a crumbly mixture.  If you find it’s too dry add some butter and if it’s too gooey add more flour.
  4. Add the sugar and the remaining almonds to the crumble mixture and combine well.
  5. Pour the crumble mix over the fruit and put in the oven and bake until its golden on top and smells good.
  6. Serve with custard or ice cream and sink into that familiar gorgeousness.
Leave a Reply

