Mrs. Jackson Cooks

Life through food

Winter greens inspiration: quick chorizo and bean stew

on January 26, 2011

You may have noticed, I’m slightly obsessed with my pulses at the moment! But really, what’s not to obsess over? They’re cheap, last ages in the cupboard, healthy, hearty, nutritious, yummy and comforting – perfect for Winter!

This is another recipe I found courtesy of foodpress. It is totally delicious. I was surprised at how nice it was! Not that I was expecting it to be horrible, I was just thinking it might be average because it’s always a bit hit and miss with blog recipes (not mine, of course – but that’s because I’m personally vetting them for you first! And being a foodie I wouldn’t put anything on here that isn’t totally yummy).

And unlike the last one on lentils – this is not confused. It’s most definitely European and not in the least Asian. It’s French or Italian really – which I’m not totally sure – you decide. And its somewhere between a cassoulet (without beans) and a risotto (but not made with risotto rice). You can find the original here:

http://ps295wellness.wordpress.com/2011/01/12/lentils-and-rice-from-mark-bittman-new-york-times/

I didn’t really deviate much from the original recipe, although next time around I’d grill the sausages separately, cut them up and add them to the rice and lentils at the end of cooking. Cooking the sausage as they suggest made it a bit anaemic and I like my sausages nice and brown! Although, of course, if you’re using bacon then I’d cook it as they suggest. But chicken breast diced, would be nice too, or diced pork. Or just leave out for a vege option.

European style rice and lentils

Serves 2-3

  • 1 tbsp oil (I used olive)
  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • 1 carrot, finely chopped
  • 1 celery stick, finely chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 red chilli, finely chopped (deseed if you don’t want too spicy, or leave out)
  • 2-3 sausages, or about 100g bacon, chopped small (or grill sausages first as I suggest above)
  • salt & pepper
  • 50g red split lentils or moong dhal
  • 75g rice (I used white basmati)
  • 700-800ml chicken/vegetable stock or water (I used chicken as it gives good flavour)
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • handful of chopped fresh parsley (I used dried)
  1. Heat the oil in a large saucepan or work. When it’s hot, add the onion, carrot and celery and fry until the onions are browned. Then add the garlic and meat (if using, or not grilling) and fry for a further few minutes until the meat is browned on the outside, or the bacon is crispy.
  2. Add the lentils and rice and mix well to coat in the oil and veges. Then add about half the stock or water. Bring to the boil and then reduce to a simmer. Add the bay leaves (and dried parsley if using) and then cover.
  3. Leave to cook for about 20-25 minutes. Keep an eye on it to make sure it’s not sticking to the pan and add more stock or water as needed. It’s ready when the lentils and rice are well cooked. If there’s some excess water – turn up the heat and boil it off. You want it just sticking to the sides of the pan. Then add the lemon juice and parsley (if using fresh), stir well and serve.
  4. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

