Mrs. Jackson Cooks

Life through food

Quick mid-week dinner: vege satay noodles

on February 1, 2011

Oooh, I’ve come over a bit self-obsessive – I’ve been checking out my blog stats and the numbers of people reading it is going up! Well, to thank you all for reading, and especially to Tom, who seems to be my biggest fan, here is a scrummy and super simple and super quick recipe that you can literally eat within 10 minutes of starting.

I came home from work, all cold and fed up with January-itis. This dinner really hit the spot. If you’re feeling the same way, I’d definitely recommend some yummy peanuty noodles.

I found it here via another blog – onewhitetulip.wordpress.com:

http://www.katheats.com/the-big-kahuna/

Scroll past all the weird photos and stuff on gyms and playing ball to the bottom, where there is a great noodle satay recipe. Or, if you can’t be bothered, I’m re-creating it here specially for you. Of course, I didn’t do it exactly as the recipe said – I made it my own way! So if you want to make the original recipe, you will have to go back to the Kath Eats blog.

She uses peanut butter (no idea what sunflower butter is – do you – please tell me!) but as this is essentially a satay dish, I decided that I might as well use some satay sauce, and as a result, I didn’t add any more garlic because the satay sauce already had them.

I also used udon noodles instead of soba ones, mostly because that’s what I had. I had bought some frozen udon noodles ages ago and forgot all about them, but in reading this, I remembered them and thought I might give it a go. It worked really well. But to be honest, you can use any noodles you like, except not rice ones, that might be odd.

Also, I don’t have molasses, so I used black treacle instead, but if you have neither, I reckon 2 tbsp of dark soy and a tsp of sugar should sort it.

This is a totally fabulous recipe – very healthy, low(ish) in calories, vegetarian and vegan, super quick and super simple.

Vege satay udon

Serves 2

  • 2 bricks of udon noodles – fresh or frozen.
  • 1 tbsp oil (I used sesame)
  • 1 red onion, finely sliced
  • 3 heads of bok choi or some greens
  • 2 carrots finely sliced
  • 1 chilli, finely chopped (de seed if you don’t want too spicy)
  • 50g peanuts, roughly chopped

For the sauce:

  • 2 tbsp satay sauce (or use peanut butter instead)
  • 1.5 tbsp light soy sauce
  • 1 tsp honey
  • 1/2 tsp molasses or black treacle
  • (you may want some warm water if you use peanut butter)
  1. Cook the noodles according to the packet instructions. Drain and set aside until needed.
  2. Make the sauce by combining all the sauce ingredients in a small bowl and mixing well.
  3. Heat the oil in a wok, on a high heat until the oil becomes fragrant (if using sesame). Add the vege and stir fry for a couple of minutes until softened.
  4. Chuck in the chilli and stir well.
  5. Add the noodles, stir again before adding the sauce. Mix well and cook for a further minute.
  6. Serve into bowls and top with the chopped peanuts.
  7. Eat with a sense of satisfaction.
Leave a Reply

