Mrs. Jackson Cooks

Life through food

East meets west: meatballs in peperonata with sweet potato cakes

on February 11, 2011

I must apologise, I have deserted you…if not physically, then definitely mentally.  I have been galavanting around the country for work and pleasure and haven’t actually written a post in weeks!   I’ve been posting blogs I wrote a while a go, in January, when I was too broke to do anything other than cook.  And to be honest, if I posted every time I cooked something, it would get a bit much!  So I store them up for the busy times when I can’t write a regular post.   Sneaky I know, but the secret’s out.

But I’m back, I promise…well sort of.  Still doing a fair bit of galavanting but not quite as much as before.  There might be the odd back up post, but I will be writing more regularly.

This was one of those meals where you start off with an idea about something and then it evolves during the course of cooking as you look in the fridge and cupboards to see what’s there.  Hence the randomness, or as chefs like to call it – fusion. It worked pretty well actually, I think.  It was tasty and filled my belly very satisfactorily.   Mr Jackson seemed happy too, so smiles all round.  As to it’s diet-friendly ness or vegetarian credentials….or even it’s cheapness, or quickness not so much.  Althouth, it’s not expensive really either.  But it’s worth it if you’re a carnivore who’s not on a diet and has got a few pennies to their name.

Now, I already wrote about the sweet potato cakes – you can find it here https://mrsjacksoncooks.wordpress.com/2011/01/16/bargain-yumminess-potato-cakes-with-sausages-in-a-tamarind-sauce/.  The only difference was, I used red chillis this time.

And as for the meatballs, well hubby was very lovely and went shopping for food and bought some ready made meatballs, so I didn’t even make those properly.  They aren’t hard to make though and if you want to I’m sure google will spit out several different recipes for you to try.

So, peperonata.  It’s a tomato and pepper sauce that’s from Italy and is gorgeous.  So simple to make.  Takes a bit of time, but it’s worth it.  And all I did was make the potato cakes as usual, and when the mixture was in the fridge I started the peperonata and grilled the meatballs.  Then when the peperonata was nearly done, I chucked in the grilled meatballs, mixed it all up, and poured it over the potato cakes.

Peperonata sauce

Serves 3

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 garlic clove minced
  • 1 red chilli finely chopped (de seed if you don’t want too spicy)
  • 2 red peppers, deseeded and sliced
  • 1 tin of tomatoes
  • salt & pepper
  1. Heat the oil in a frying pan, on  a low heat.  Add the garlic and chilli and fry until the oil becomes infused.
  2. Add the pepper strips and fry gently until they soften.
  3. Then add the tomatoes, breaking them up with the spatula.  Cook for about 40-50 minutes on a very low heat to release all the sweetness from the peppers and reduce the tomatoes to a sauce.
  4. Taste, and add seasoning.  You may also want to add some chilli flakes.  Alternatively, if you’re a mild kind of person leave out the chilli and add in some fresh basil and coriander just before the tomatoes.
  5. Add the grilled or baked meatballs and serve with potato cakes for some multicultural yumminess.
Leave a Reply

