Mrs. Jackson Cooks

Life through food

Cheats pizza

on February 18, 2011

I love this pizza. I found the original idea by Ravinder Bhogal (of course!) in Grazia magazine. I’ve made the original recipe, which is delicious and no doubt, I’ll post that sometime too, but this one took the idea of that recipe but is completely different.

And the reasons I love this pizza is I can eat it! Most pizzas I daren’t eat for fear they will make me ill – I seem to have some kind of bread/dough intolerance. But it doesn’t apply to flatbreads, which is what this recipe uses. And it’s super quick and something you can do when you get home starving and have to eat immediately! Ravinder suggests this is a midnight munchies kind of thing, but as I like to sleep at night and not eat, I honestly wouldn’t know. If you’re of the persuasion that cheese gives you nightmares then I wouldn’t recommend it!

And the other great thing about this recipe idea is you can basically put anything that happens to be lurking in the fridge on it. Just make sure it’s ‘dry’ (i.e. not oily or in sauce or something). This one is a Spanish take on ham and pineapple. It’s chorizo and pineapple with sweetcorn. And I know sounds disgusting and the picture isn’t brilliant (I used orange cheese so that didn’t help!) but trust me, it’s delicious.

And this recipe isn’t vegetarian but it could be – just take the same idea and leave out the meat. It’s also healthier than normal pizzas, has less calories and as you’re making it yourself, you can determine how calorific your toppings are. This one isn’t super healthy, that’s the chorizo for you, but it’s not that bad either.

Cheat’s pizza

Serves 1 (or in my husband’s case 1/2 a person)

  • 1 large wrap or flatbread.
  • 3 tbsp passata or pesto sauce
  • 1 onion finely sliced
  • 40g chorizo finely sliced (on the diagonal – tastes better, trust me!)
  • 1 red chilli finely chopped
  • 2 slices tinned pineapple cut into chunks, or a handful of pineapple chunks, dried
  • 50g tinned sweetcorn, well drained
  • 60g grated cheddar cheese or finely sliced mozzarella
  1. Preheat the grill to high.
  2. Heat a large frying pan and toast the wrap on either side until it starts to brown (but not burn)
  3. Remove from the pan and add the chorizo, onion and chilli to the pan (dry) and cook until the onion softens and the chorizo releases it’s oils. Remove from the pan and set aside.
  4. Smear one side of the wrap with the passata or pesto (my preference is passata)
  5. Scatter the onions and chorizo over the passata, followed by the pineapple and sweetcorn
  6. Place the wrap under the grill on a flat-ish baking tray for about 2-3 minutes until the edges of the wrap start to brown.
  7. Sprinkle over the cheese and return to the grill until melted and golden.
  8. Serve immediately and eat with your fingers!
Leave a Reply

