Mrs. Jackson Cooks

Life through food

Sweet potato aloo gobi (potato and cauliflower dry curry)

on February 20, 2011

My husband came home a few days ago with a cauliflower.  He does this sometimes, turns up in the kitchen with a random fruit or vegetable.  Before Christmas I came down one morning to a whole pineapple in the kitchen!  This time it was cauliflower.  And regular readers will know about my dislike of cauliflower.  It’s not a violent hate, I won’t spit it out or refuse to eat it, I just prefer not to.

But anyway, I had this cauliflower (it was reduced to 10p as it was going out of date, which is why he bought it, but also why I had to cook it fairly quickly) and I had no idea what to do with it.  I thought the only way it was going to be more palatable to me, is if it was cut up small, combined with things I do like, and the taste covered in spices – hence some kind of vegetable takari (dry-ish curry side dish).  Except I didn’t do dahl with it, I just ate it with rice.  Eating it with naan or chappatis would be good too.  I makes a great lunch time dish – not too heavy but full of flavour and easy to take to work too.

Aloo gobi is normally made with ordinary yellow/white potatoes, but once again, the man who likes to write M&S advert style blogs, came to my rescue.   And he used some wonderful spices, along with sweet potatoes instead of normal potatoes.  And I’ve got quite a few sweet potatoes knocking around in my cupboard (I sent hubbie shopping a couple of weeks ago and put ‘potatoes’ on the list – he came back with about 4 different varieties, including sweet potatoes!) so I thought, as I do love them, they would help cover the non-taste of cauliflower very well.  Of course, you can just substitute the sweet potato for normal potato but you may want to par boil them for a bit longer.

As you would expect, Edible Aria guy didn’t think to put anything as prosaic as quantities in his blog, so I turned to my trusty Indian cookbook for those kinds of things, and also when to add in the different ingredients, but I did use Edible Aria’s spices as they seemed more interesting than the cookbook’s.

You can find his version here http://ediblearia.com/2011/01/31/vegan-aloo-gobi/

And this recipe, is of course, vegetarian, vegan, dairy and gluten free.  So its very friendly to everyone.  And if you’re a mild kind of person, just leave out or reduce the chillis – I put in fresh and chilli powder, you could just leave out the powder and take the seeds out of the fresh and you’ll be fine.  Of course, if you’re a chilli fiend, add another one or two chillis to taste.  But regardless of your food persuasions, this is super tasty, full of flavour, very nutritious and also low in calories for those who are on diets or scared of eating.

Sweet potato aloo gobi

Serves 4

  • 450g sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into chunks
  • 1 tsp coriander seeds
  • 1 tsp cumin seeds
  • 1 tsp mustard seeds
  • 1 tsp carom/ajwain seeds
  • 2 tbsp oil (I used olive)
  • 1 onion, finely sliced
  • 450g cauliflower, cut into florets
  • a knob of root ginger peeled and grated
  • 2 green chillis finely sliced
  • 1/2 tsp chilli powder
  • 1/4 tsp turmeric
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tin tomatoes
  • handful of chopped fresh coriander
  1. Par boil the sweet potatoes for about 3-4 minutes until they start to soften but aren’t fully cooked.
  2. Meanwhile, heat the oil in the pan.  Add the whole spices and cook until the start to pop.
  3. Then add the onion, fry for another couple of minutes until it starts to cook before adding the cauliflower, chilli and ginger.
  4. Fry for a few minutes until the cauliflower starts to cook.  Then add the ground spices including the salt.  Mix well to combine.
  5. Next add the tin of tomatoes, stir well, breaking the tomatoes up with a wooden spoon.  Add the par boiled potatoes at this point.
  6. Reduce the heat and cook slowly until the mixture becomes quite jammy and the cauliflower and potatoes are fully cooked – about 7-10 minutes.
  7. Add the coriander, stir well and cook for a further couple of minutes.
  8. Serve with boiled rice and plain dahl, or with chappatis or naans
  9. Enjoy as the taste of all the spices rush to your taste buds!
3 responses to “Sweet potato aloo gobi (potato and cauliflower dry curry)

  1. Looks great! I love sweet potatoes and curry, and I’ve never had the two together before. Thanks for the recipe!

  2. […] delish, full of goodness and low in calories and fat!  You can find the recipe here if you want https://mrsjacksoncooks.wordpress.com/2011/02/20/sweet-potato-aloo-gobi-potato-and-cauliflower-dry-cu…) I am turning over a new leaf – no drinking of alcohol, no eating of chocolate or cake […]

Leave a Reply

