Mrs. Jackson Cooks

Life through food

Healthy vege lunch options: falafels with red cabbage salad

on March 19, 2011

This was one of those things that started off being one thing and ended up being another and is actually a combination of two recipes and nothing like either! But hey, that’s cooking in real life for you!

I have a red cabbage in my fridge (courtesy of the vege delivery people) and I wasn’t really sure what to do with it. I can just about get my head round normal cabbage, but red ones…that’s a whole other kettle of fish! So I was looking for red cabbage recipes and most were either with ingredients I didn’t have, took too long to cook or were very boring. But then I found a recipe for sweet potato falafels with a cabbage salad, and it ticked all the boxes – ingredients in cupboard, fairly quick and easy, and it included red cabbage. So I thought I’d make them for lunch. And having just eaten them, they are delicious, although putting it all together is a bit fiddly for lunch at work. Perfect for picnics…although who’d be picnicking in this weather, I’ve no idea!

As it turned out, I didn’t have enough sweet potato to make the falafels as per the recipe, so I quickly looked for alternative falafel recipes that use chickpeas, and combined that recipe with the sweet potato one, and also just did my own thing a bit!

One think I will say, mashing sweet potato with a masher is fine. Mashing chickpeas is not! I ended up using the pestle from my pestle and mortar and even that took a good 5 minutes to break them down properly! I’d go with rolling pins, wine bottles or anything else heavy. And make sure the bowl isn’t glass or ceramic! I used a stainless steel bowl and this was a wise choice.

The original recipes are both from the BBC good food website and can be found here:

http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/531629/sweet-potato-falafels-with-coleslaw

http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/2589/spicy-falafels

I’ve no idea how good they are but I usually trust the BBC good food website for good recipes. But as I say, I combined both with my own stuff as I went along so the final recipe is entirely my own!

These are vegetarian (but not vegan, because of the egg – unless you can find something else for binding), healthy, full of nutrients to keep you going all day, feeling full. I’m not sure what the calories are, but if you want stick it in one of those recipe calorie counter websites and it’ll tell you.

Falafels with red cabbage salad

Serves 4 (ish)

for the falafels:

  • 100-150g sweet potato
  • 1 tin of chickpeas
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp ground coriander
  • 1 tsp salt
  • juice of 1/2 a lemon
  • 2 garlic cloves, finely chopped
  • handful of chopped fresh parsley
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp flour
  • 4 tbsp oil (I used olive)

For the salad:

  • 1/4 red cabbage, shredded
  • 1 small red onion, finely sliced
  • 1 carrot, grated or 100g tinned sweetcorn
  • 3 tbsp red wine vinegar
  • 1 tbsp sugar

To serve with:

  • Pitta breads
  • Hoummous
  1. Steam the sweet potato whole, with skin on in the microwave for 6-8 minutes until softened. Leave to cool and then peel and chop into chunks.
  2. Place the sweet potato in a large bowl with the chickpeas, lemon juice, spices and herbs and mash until completely broken down and smooth.
  3. Add the flour and mix well, and then add the egg, mixing again.
  4. Heat the oil in a frying pan on a high heat and take teaspoons of the mixture, roll into balls and drop into the pan. Fry quickly on both sides until browned then turn out onto kitchen roll. Keep adding oil to the pan as the more oil there is the more they will go golden brown and not burn.
  5. Leave to cool. Meanwhile, mix the vinegar with the sugar until the sugar dissolves in a large bowl. Add the veges, toss well and leave for at least 15 minutes in the fridge to infuse.
  6. Toast the pittas, slit and spread with hoummous in the middle. Then stuff in some of the salad followed by 2-3 falafels. And enjoy!
3 responses to “Healthy vege lunch options: falafels with red cabbage salad

  1. I think the red cabbage salad really makes the recipe. I’ll probably stick to carrot for the texture.

  2. […] high tech way of sticking in the microwave!) or some coleslaw (recipe for which you can find here https://mrsjacksoncooks.wordpress.com/2011/03/19/healthy-vege-lunch-options-falafels-with-red-cabbage…). You could even do some baked beans if you wanted…the colonel would be […]

Leave a Reply

