Mrs. Jackson Cooks

Life through food

A quick dry curry: keema & peas

on March 21, 2011

This isn’t really a curry – it’s more like an Indian style stir fry, but it’s really fast, and hits the spot after a gym workout. And guess, what, yet another one I forgot to take a photo of – I’m really bad at the moment, very sorry. I’ll attempt to do better from now on!

The pad thai on Sunday wasn’t quite right again – better, but I think I know what I’m doing now, so I’ll try again and let you know if it lives up to expectations.

The original recipe is with lamb mince, but I used beef mince as that was what was in the freezer. But you could also use quorn for a vege alternative (which I think would also be vegan). I’m not sure if it would work as a purely vege thing, without some kind of meat substitute. But it’s also gluten and lactose free – so it’s pretty friendly all round, especially when you also factor in it’s low in calories and fat. The recipe said it was 179 calories – I’d probably go with a bit more, especially if you’re using beef, but it would still be a meal under 500 calories including the rice or naan. The original is from my low fat Indian cookbook, but I (as always) changed it a bit – not least with the beef, but I also used passata instead of fresh tomatoes as that’s what I had.

We ate it with rice, but it would be equally good with chappattis or naan. Or chips – if you want the full fat alternative!

Keema & peas

Serves 4

  • 1 tbsp oil (I used olive)
  • 1 medium onion, finely sliced
  • 1/2 tsp minced garlic
  • 1/2 tsp minced ginger
  • 1 tsp ground coriander
  • 1/4 tsp turmeric
  • 1/2 chilli powder (use 1tsp if you want it more spicy, it’s quite mild in this dish)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tomato sliced or 6 tbsp passata, or 1/4 tin tomatoes
  • 275g lean minced lamb, beef or quorn
  • 1 carrot sliced or cut into batons
  • 100g frozen peas, defrosted
  • handful of chopped fresh coriander
  • 2 green chillis, sliced (de seed if you don’t want it too spicy)
  1. Heat the oil in a pan (I used a wok – I use it for pretty much everything!), and fry the onion on a medium heat until browned.
  2. Add the garlic, ginger, dried spices, salt and tomato to the pan, mix well to combine with the onion – to form something of a rough paste.
  3. Add in the mince, breaking up with the spatula and mixing well with the onion and spices. cook until fully browned, for about 7-10 minutes.
  4. Add the carrot, mix well and fry for a further 3-4 minutes until the carrot starts to soften.
  5. Add in the peas, stir well to mix.
  6. Then add in the coriander and green chillis. Mix again to combine and heat through for a further 1-2 minutes.
  7. Serve immediately with rice, naan or chappattis and savour the deliciousness 🙂
Leave a Reply

