Mrs. Jackson Cooks

Life through food

Keralan egg curry

on March 25, 2011

The idea of egg curry always reminds me of boarding school – and that’s not always a good memory, especially the egg curry! But some egg curries are good and I try to overcome my prejudices brought on by terrible school food. What made me look at this one was the assertion that it could be cooked in 9 minutes. That sounded too good to be true. It was. More like 20 minutes, but still, not bad, and my husband is still talking about this curry – 3 days later! That’s how good it was.

This curry didn’t taste anything like the curry at school, it was spicy, creamy, tomatoey, full of flavour – just yummy. And quick too, for when you need to eat right now!

I’ve no idea about the calories – anything with coconut milk in it, isn’t low in calories or fat but if its any consolation, it’s all good fat – especially from the eggs. Good for vegetarians though – so someone’s happy.

This recipe came from Gizzi Erskine – and I have to say I’ve been impressed with any recipe of hers that I’ve tried. She might be a tad irritating on twitter but she does know how to cook. Her picture is also much more artfully arranged than mine – because art and photos and eating don’t mix for me – I’m normally having to hold back from shovelling it down my face for a few seconds to take a photo!

You can find the original here: http://www.gizzierskine.co.uk/blog/index.php/2011/03/keralan-egg-curry/

I didn’t really change this much – I think I added another onion, chopped as part of the curry, not part of the paste, and I added some mushrooms as well and left out one of the eggs – I thought 1.5 eggs per person was enough! And that was it really. But it’s so delicious you wouldn’t want to change it really, unless you had to.

However, because if you are anything like me, you’re a bit lazy and can’t be bothered clicking through links – I’ll reproduce it here for you.

Keralan egg curry

Serves 2

  • 2-3 tbsp oil (I used olive)
  • 1 small onion finely chopped plus another chopped
  • 3-4 garlic cloves, finely chopped
  • knob of ginger, finely chopped
  • 1-2 green chillis, finely chopped (de seed if you don’t want too spicy)
  • 1/2 tbsp tomato puree
  • 3/4 tsp turmeric (it scared me too – but don’t be)
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp ground coriander
  • 3/4 tsp garam masala
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3 eggs, hard boiled and peeled.
  • 1 tomato finely chopped (or 3 cherry tomatoes)
  • 200ml coconut milk
  • 100g frozen peas (petit pois)
  • 4 mushrooms sliced
  • handful of chopped fresh coriander
  1. Wizz 1tbsp of the oil with 1 onion, the garlic, ginger, chillis, dried spices and tomato puree to make a paste
  2. Heat another tbsp of oil in a pan (I used a wok) and fry the paste for a few minutes until it begins to cook out and deepen in colour. Then add the onion and the rest of the oil and continue to cook.
  3. Then add the mushrooms and cook until they start to change colour.
  4. Then add the coconut milk, tomato and peas. Bring to the boil and simmer for about 5 minutes until you have a nice curry sauce thickness.
  5. Halve the eggs and add to the sauce along with the coriander. Stir well and taste for seasoning.
  6. Serve immediately with boiled rice, chappatis or naan.
  7. And revel in its deliciousness.

Leave a comment