Mrs. Jackson Cooks

Life through food

Potato and bacon salad

on April 1, 2011

In the spirit of Friday afternoon work avoidance (although how that differs from any other day’s work avoidance, I’ve no idea – other than I am now so broke from online shopping I’ve had to ban myself….oh for at least a week!) I thought I’d blog about my lunch (made at some ungodly hour this morning!).

As previously mentioned – I have a ridiculous number of potatoes, and not being a huge fan of them, it’s been somewhat taxing trying to eat them all!  And this was one of those recipes – ‘what’s in the cupboards that I can turn into a meal’.  As it turned out, the vege company had handily delivered my box of vege, which included spinach, yesterday and there was leftover bacon in the fridge – so this recipe was pretty much perfect.

The only things I did differently were I added tomatoes and left out the parmesan – mostly because at 7am this morning, I could not be bothered with grating!  And the tomatoes needed eating.

I found the original on the trusty BBC Good food website.  And you can see it here.  http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/3782/spinach-bacon-and-new-potato-salad

The one thing I forgot to do was take a photo of it – I ate it before I remembered!  But there’s a very pretty one on the bbc’s page.

This, I reckon, is a pretty healthy lunch option – potatoes are good carbs – they release their energy slowly unlike rice and pasta – so it keeps you going all afternoon whilst you work really had at that online shopping!  Bacon is pretty low calorie (especially if you use dry cured, like I do) and spinach is good for you – popeye and my mother said so.  And if you leave out the parmesan, there’s really nothing bad too it.  Even the olive oil is virgin!

Bacon, spinach and potato salad

Serves 2

  • 250g new, salad or small potatoes (or large one, peeled and cut into small chunks)
  • 3-4 rashers of bacon
  • large handful of fresh spinach (remove stalks if not using baby spinach) and roughly chopped
  • 10 cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp red wine vinegar
  • 1 tsp wholegrain mustard (you can use other mustard but reduce quantity accordingly)
  • salt & pepper
  1. Halve and boil the potatoes in salted water until cooked – about 10 minutes.  Drain, refresh and set aside to cool.
  2. Meanwhile, grill the bacon until crispy.  Cool and then crumble (chop)
  3. Then make the dressing by whisking together the oil, vinegar and mustard.  Then add the salt & pepper to taste.
  4. Put the spinach and tomatoes in a large bowl.  Add the bacon and the potatoes.  Pour over the dressing and toss well to coat in the dressing.
  5. Leave in the fridge for at least 15 minutes for the flavours to be absorbed.
  6. Serve, with parmesan flakes on top (if you like) or some farmhouse style bread.
  7. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

