Mrs. Jackson Cooks

Life through food

The first bbq of the year

on April 10, 2011

I’m sorry, I’ve been absent this week.  It’s not that I’ve not been cooking, its just I’ve not cooked anything I’ve not already blogged about, and so many things to see and people to do this week this is the first time I’ve had any time to sit down and write.  And to be honest, I don’t want to.  I want to be outside in the sunshine but I can’t get the laptop to work – plus I’m dying my hair!

This weekend we’ve had truly gorgeous spring weather.  Well it’s been warmer than spring, for England in any case.  Not quite the dizzying heights it reached at our wedding but not far off.  So out came the spade and the trowel and the compost and things got pruned, and weeded and mown.  And then we went to B&Q and got some plants to replace the ones that didn’t survive the winter.  And it was just lovely, chilling in the garden, doing the gardening, enjoying the sunshine.  And what could be better than a bbq.  So I hurriedly marinaded some meat that was in the freezer (having defrosted it, of course!) and we had the impromptu bbq.  It was very good, if I do say so myself!

We had jerk pork, sticky chinese chicken drumsticks, red cabbage coleslaw and baked potatoes.  Yummy.

The jerk seasoning I had in a bottle that’s been lurking for years in the fridge ever since we brought it back from Jamaica – but it wasn’t mouldy, didn’t smell or taste bad so I slapped it on the pork chops.  But if you don’t have any in your fridge, you can get some from the supermarket (the reggae reggae sauce is popular, but not one of my favourites) or you can make your own, which is what I was going to do until I realised I didn’t have half the ingredients.  But if you did, then here’s a recipe you could use:

http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/11811/jerk-spiced-ribs

I marinaded them for about 1 hour, and really you should do them longer but even in this short time they tasted really good.  I do recommend scraping off the seasoning before bbqing or eating as it was quite overpowering.

The sticky chinese marinade for the chicken, I found here

http://www.taste.com.au/recipes/19062/sticky+sesame+chicken+legs

I didn’t do all of it – I didn’t bother with the sesame seeds as I thought they’d just fall off in the bbq and I just used the marinade bit and didn’t bother with the rest.   They were really delicious – sweet and sticky and the perfect antidote to the jerk pork, which was lovely and full of spiciness.

The coleslaw was the same as the one I used with the falafels, which you can get here

https://mrsjacksoncooks.wordpress.com/2011/03/19/healthy-vege-lunch-options-falafels-with-red-cabbage-salad/

This time I left out the onion and added in carrot and sweetcorn and it was as lovely as ever.  Baked potatoes, well if you’re doing a full bbq you can just wrap them in foil and stick them in the coals, but as we only had a mini one, with it just being hubby and me, I did them in the oven – whack it on full heat, and shove them in for about an hour. Or if you’re lazy, prick them a few times on each side, stick them in the microwave, 5 mins on each side, then put them in an oven on full heat for about 15-20 mins to make them all crispy.

In any case, as the sticky chinese marinade was the only thing that was both new and made from scratch – I’m reproducing it here for you.  But if you needed any excuse or proof for an impromptu bbq, then look no further – very easy to do and even if you only marinade for an hour, it’s still delicious.  of course, you can put any meat in the marinades, this is just what I did.

Sticky chinese style marinade for bbqs

Serves 2

2 chicken drumsticks, skin on

2 chicken thighs (or 2 more drumsticks), skin on

  • 4 tbsp dark soy sauce
  • 4 tbsp runny honey
  • 4 tsp rice wine (or dry sherry)
  • 1 garlic clove, crushed
  • 1 small knob of ginger, peeled and grated.
  1. Mix the soy and the honey together in a medium sized flatish dish.  Then add the wine, garlic and ginger.  Mix well.
  2. Then add the chicken a piece at a time, squidge around in the marinade on both sides and repeat with all the chicken until coated in the marinade.
  3. Place in the fridge for at least an hour, preferably overnight, to marinade.
  4. Remove, and place on the bbq – ensuring its cooked all the way through.
  5. The honey will make it burn and go crispy, but that’s what makes it so tasty!
  6. Enjoy with a G&T or white wine spritzer and feel all summery 🙂
Leave a Reply

