Mrs. Jackson Cooks

Life through food

Comfort on a plate: cheesy pork chops with chilli wedges

on April 18, 2011

I’m not sure what’s up with me – and before anyone says, no I’m not pregnant! – but I’ve been comfort eating.  I’m not sure if it’s just the stress or pace of life or what really but I’ve been finding myself craving cheese and chocolate and cake!  It’s not good.  But anyway, I’d just got back from the gym, there was some pork that needed eating in the fridge, hubby wasn’t around to talk any sense into me, and I remembered I had some of that goat’s cheese leftover.  So this is what I ended up with!

And actually, it was amazing to eat.  And the best comfort food in a very short space of time ever (if you aren’t in a hurry, I’d go with shepherd’s pie or double chocolate brownies every time!).  I got inspiration, as always, from the BBC good food site and there were all these cheesy pork chop things which got me intrigued.  And then I found this one, that wasn’t about cheese at all but looked really tasty and simple.  But instead of pasta I decided I needed spicy wedges in my life.  And I don’t regret it.  I do regret a lot of the chocolate and biscuits I’ve eaten since then….but it’s not the recipe’s fault that I’ve decided to try out bulimia but without the throwing up!

Starting with today’s lunch (aloo gobi – delish, full of goodness and low in calories and fat!  You can find the recipe here if you want https://mrsjacksoncooks.wordpress.com/2011/02/20/sweet-potato-aloo-gobi-potato-and-cauliflower-dry-curry/) I am turning over a new leaf – no drinking of alcohol, no eating of chocolate or cake (although I may indulge in the occasional biscuit), no eating out and no puddings for the next 2 weeks.  I am in detox mode!

But back to the delightful intoxication of the cheesy pork chops.  There’s still plenty of time for regrets and promises to do better later!  I’ve already blogged about spicy wedges – you can find it here https://mrsjacksoncooks.wordpress.com/2011/01/05/spicy-baked-wedges/.  So I won’t repeat myself and I’ll just tell you about the pork.

The inspiration came from this recipe http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/3547/balsamic-pork-with-olives

I liked the simplicity of this and that it would only take 20 minutes and didn’t even think about cheese originally, but that goat’s cheese got me thinking, and actually, I think it was an excellent addition.  Also the pasta did not look apetising, hence the wedges.  Perfect.  And because of the flavours in the wedges and the goat’s cheese I left out the mustard as well.  And I added onions and tomatoes to it to make more of the sauce.

Balsamic pork with goats cheese

Serves 1

  • 1 pork chop (preferably boneless), with fatty rind removed
  • 2 tbsp olive oil + 1 tbsp for frying
  • 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1 garlic clove, crushed
  • 1 small onion, finely sliced
  • handful of olives, sliced
  • 1 tomato, chopped
  • handful of chopped fresh basil or parsley
  • salt & pepper
  • 3 slices of soft goats cheese
  1. Heat the grill on high.
  2. Mix together the oil and vinegar and add the garlic.  Then squidge the pork around in the marinade on both sides and leave to infuse for about 5 minutes.
  3. Then head a griddle pan on high, add the extra oil.   Remove the pork from the marinade and pat dry.  Fry lightly on each side for about 3-4 minutes, until the pork is cooked through.  Remove from the pan and keep warm.
  4. Add the onion (you may want more oil) and fry until golden and crispy.  Then add the olives and tomato.  Cook briefly until the tomato starts to break down, then add the marinade mixture.  You may also decide to add a bit more balsalmic vinegar – but do taste first.  Wait until you’ve got a nice thick sauce then stir in the herbs and some seasoning.
  5. Return the pork to the pan.  top with the goats cheese and place under the grill until the cheese starts to melt and run into the sauce.
  6. Pile onto a plate with the wedges (which you’ll have wanted to start well before the pork) and the sauce around the pork and eat with immense satisfaction, and not worrying about the calories, at least until tomorrow (trust me it’s worth the extra time in the gym!).
Leave a Reply

