Mrs. Jackson Cooks

Life through food

Regaining healthiness: mediterranean leek salad

on April 23, 2011

I hate leeks. Can’t stand them, even the smell of them can make me vomit. Same with chives and spring onions, but I have less of a violent reaction to them, I just normally get a headache. There are few things I won’t eat – liver, bread and leeks. But guess what, I got 3 leeks in this weeks vege delivery. I wasn’t sure what to do, and as I hate not being able to eat things I thought I’d try to give leeks another go.

I worked out that the most pungent bit is the white bit (obvious really) – and just smelling that made me run for the loo! Sorry, I’ll stop with that. But the green bits weren’t too bad and quite manageable. I must admit, I did still have a headache after eating the salad but I was quite impressed I’d managed to keep it down. So no white bits in the salad for me – but if you can eat leeks I’d put them in as they’re the bit with all the flavour.

It’s a great little salad though, perfect for picnics or bbqs or just for eating in the garden (which is what I did). I just served it with some cold continental meats. You may want to add some baguettes to that too. I got the idea from this website, but I altered it somewhat.

http://www.dailychef.com/blog/?p=1516

I added tomatoes and cucumber which I grated, along with the carrot, and I cut the leeks very finely (a Chinese chopping knife comes in handy here). I also left out the onion as I felt leeks were enough for one salad!

Mediterranean style leek salad

Serves 2 (main) or 4-6 as part a side/bbq

  • 1 small lettuce head (not sure what I used – a floppy one), finely chopped
  • 1 leek (white removed for leek haters, dark green bit removed for leek lovers), very finely sliced on the round
  • 1 carrot, grated
  • 1/2 cucumber, grated
  • 2 tomatoes finely chopped, or about 10 cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 2 celery stalks, finely chopped
  • 10 green olives, sliced
  • handful of chopped fresh coriander
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tbsp mayonnaise
  • salt & pepper
  1. Place all the salad items in a large bowl and toss well to combine.
  2. In a small bowl, whisk the oil, vinegar and mayonnaise. Add seasoning and whisk again.
  3. Pour the dressing over the salad, toss again to coat all the salad in the dressing and serve immediately.
  4. Enjoy the healthiness!
Leave a Reply

