Mrs. Jackson Cooks

Life through food

Easter lamb: roasted with juniper and Rosemary

on April 27, 2011

20110427-090157.jpg

Sorry, yet another post without a photo. I hope you’ll forgive me – I was learning to wallpaper on my hallway walls and was distracted.

My mother in law bought me a lovely leg of lamb so I thought I may as well roast it as I could put it in the oven and forget about it whilst I wallpapered. The wallpaper looks good by the way – so here’s a pic of that instead!

I found a recipe on BBC good food site which used a spice rub on the lamb. It used juniper berries and you know how I am with any recipes that use odd spices that I happen to have! I’m writing this on my phone so I can’t add in the link right now.

The lamb was delicious – but then it is lambing season so they’re all fresh and tender!

This is a super easy recipe. I did it with roast potatoes and vege shoved in the oven part way through – so simple and not much to think about, hence doing it whilst wallpapering!

Roast lamb with juniper and Rosemary

Serves 6 (or less with leftovers for curries!)

• leg of lamb, about 2nd
• 4 tbsp olive oil
• 3-4 garlic cloves
• 2 sprigs Rosemary, leaves removed and chopped
• 5 juniper berries
• 8 whole peppercorns
• 2 tsp salt

1. Pre-heat the oven to 190 degrees celsius (lower for longer cooking times and wrap your lamb in foil).
2. Place your lamb in a roasting dish
3. Crush the garlic cloves with the back of a knife then put them win the Rosemary and spices and salt in a mortar and add the oil. Bash and crush into a paste with the pestle.
4. Rub the paste all over the top of the lamb and place in the oven for about 1 hour 20 minutes (or more if you like it well done).
5. About 40 minutes in add your potatoes and then your vege about 20 mins later.
6. Remove lamb from oven, place on carving board and cover in foil and allow to rest for about 20 mins.
7. Meanwhile use your roasting pan to make the gravy. I used White wine in mine which was lovely.
8. Turn off oven. Carve lamb. Serve with vege and gravy.
9. Perfection 🙂

Leave a Reply

