Mrs. Jackson Cooks

Life through food

leftover roasts: Lamb khara masala curry

on May 5, 2011

As you know, my mother in law bought me a lovely leg of lamb for Easter which I roasted but there was far more meat on it than could be used in one meal, so I turned the rest of it in to curry. I wanted to replicate this gorgeous curry I’d made before with a yoghurt marinade but because the lamb was already roasted the marinade wouldn’t have been able to get into the meat.

So I chose a fairly quick curry instead that uses lots of whole spices and is actually quite a dry curry. Not totally but it’s not in loads of sauce – more like an Indian style stir fry. If you were using raw lamb then you’d want to cook it for longer than I did – perhaps about 30-40 minutes with about 600ml or a pint of water.

I got this recipe from my low fat Indian recipe book, but I have adapted it (becuase of copyright!) so here is my version of it.

Khara Masala Lamb

Serves 4

  • 1 tbsp oil (I used olive)
  • 2 onions, chopped
  • a small knob of ginger, peeled and grated
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 6 dried red chillis
  • 3 cardamom pods
  • 2 cinnamon sticks
  • 6 black peppercorns
  • 3 cloves
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 450g boneless leg lamb meat (cooked or uncooked)
  • 2 carrots finely chopped
  • 1 green pepper, finely chopped
  • 3 tbsp water (if cooked) or 600ml water (uncooked)
  • 2 green chillis sliced
  • handful of chopped fresh coriander
  1. Heat the oil in a large sauce pan (or my favourite – a wok) and fry the onions until browned. Then add the ginger and garlic and stir well before adding half the red chillis and all of the cardamom, cinnamon, peppercorns, cloves and salt.
  2. Next add the lamb and stir fry for a few minutes to heat and brown on all sides. Stir continuously in a semi circular movement (called bhooning), scraping the the bits from the bottom of the pan as you go.
  3. Then add the water, lower the heat and allow to bubble off.
  4. When it’s nearly cooked add the remaining red chillis, the green chilli and the coriander and stir fry for a few minutes.
  5. Serve immediately with rice and naan and intense satisfaction.
Leave a Reply

