Mrs. Jackson Cooks

Life through food

Hubby’s birthday tea: steak with peppercorn sauce and spicy wedges

on May 24, 2011

As mentioned before, I made a nice tea for hubby’s birthday as we are spending our money on lots of other things and so don’t have it to go out for dinner with. Hubby loves steak. Well, most men do. But if it’s on the menu anywhere, he will almost always order it. And he almost always orders peppercorn sauce to go with it.

I’ve never had much success with steak at home. I invariably buy poor quality steak and over cook it. I am one of these people that like my steak well done (it’s the growing up in Asia – everything needs to be ‘well done’). But hubby likes his almost mooing. So I decided – steak from the butchers and the minute it looks like it’s cooked, get it out the pan. And that approach worked well. Not only was it significantly better quality meat than the steak from M&S (the nice stuff too), it was thicker and about half the price. I went for rump steak as it looked nicer than the sirloin at the butchers. But either is a very good cut of meat.

For the peppercorn sauce, I have used, but don’t really like shop bought peppercorn sauce so I decided to make my own and found a great recipe (from a man so I knew it would be good!) online, and then kind of adapted it! Of course, it being a man writing it, he didn’t bother with any quantities, but have no fear, I have added the quantities I used so there’s no need to panic! I had to go hunting for green peppercorns. I wanted pink ones too but had to give up that search. But the lovely grocer gave me a handful of green ones for free so that was good.

http://ramsayspubfoodathome.com/sirloin-steak-with-green-peppercorn-sauce/

I served with spicy wedges, which you can find here and some julienned carrots and green beans caramelised and cooked in marsala wine.

All in all, I was quite smug about how good it was – the first time I’ve done steak well.

Steak in peppercorn sauce

Serves 2

  • handful black peppercorns, roughly ground in a pestle and mortar
  • salt
  • knob of butter

for the sauce

  • 1 red onion, finely sliced
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 6ish mushrooms, finely sliced
  • 60ml medium dry sherry
  • 100ml double cream
  • 10 green peppercorns, lightly bashed in a pestle and mortar
  • salt to taste
  1. Remove the steaks from the fridge about 30 mins before cooking and allow to come to room temperature (I did this at the same time as putting the wedges in the oven)
  2. Season your steaks with salt and the ground black peppercorns (I did as the recipe said and placed on a plate and placed the steak on top to coat)
  3. Heat a large frying pan on a high heat until smoking. Add the butter and let it sizzle. Place the steaks in the pan and cook on either side to the desired level of cooking. I did it for 1 minute each side which was about medium rare. For me, I think probably 2 minutes each side would have been better (medium well done). But it’s all a bit of guess work really.
  4. When they’re done, remove from the pan and place on a plate, covered in foil to rest.
  5. Remove the pan from the heat until it stops smoking. Reduce the heat level to medium, and add the onion and garlic. Fry until the onion is softened, then add the mushrooms. Cook until the mushrooms turn brown.
  6. Then add the sherry and let it bubble and reduce. Add the cream, reduce the heat to low and simmer. holding the steaks, pour any released juices into the pan to add flavour.
  7. Add the green peppercorns and any salt and simmer until you have a reasonably thick sauce that coats the back of a spoon.
  8. Pour over the steak and serve with wedges and veges
  9. Enjoy your manly meal!


Steak With Peppercorn Sauce

Leave a Reply

