Mrs. Jackson Cooks

Life through food

Quick and simple cakes: Apple, raisin and coffee cupcakes

on May 31, 2011

This was one of those silly situations.  As you know I made hubby a birthday cake – well even though I’d reduced the quantities from the recipe, I still ended up with about double the amount of icing than I could possibly put on that cake, and I properly overloaded it!  So, we were having a bbq for our birthdays on Saturday and  I thought I’d make some cupcakes for the bbq and use the icing up on them.  It was a case of making a cake to use up the icing!

Now of course, I couldn’t just use any old cake recipe – I needed one that would work with chocolate buttercream icing.  So my first though was coffee cupcakes.  And then I thought that people may not like them (some people like coffee and others really don’t!).  But I was searching through cupcake recipe. http://www.all-about-cupcakes.com/quick-coffee-cupcakes.html

I have to say, although it has coffe in it, its not really a coffee cupcake as such – there’s more raisins and apple in it than coffee.  And with the cinnamon added, its much more of a spicy fruity cupcake than a coffee one.  But not in a Christmassy way – just in case you were worrying!  I thought they were really delicious, simple cakes.  Everyone had at least 1 cupcake and there was much appreciation for them so this is a very simple, quick and safe recipe to make when you need some cupcakes and you don’t want to take any risks (such as for a party).  Although the only child at my party was too young for cupcakes, I would say they’re kid friendly as the coffee flavour isn’t strong at all.

I halved the recipe amounts, because with it being an American recipe, they’d be making muffin sized cupcakes, not the more traditional English fairy cupcake size!  I know that ginormous cupcakes are all the rage right now, but I only have the small cupcake tin and not a muffin one!  This is such a simple recipe, there’s no electric whisking involved, no butter creaming or egg beating or anything like that.  There’s even minimal worry about curdling.  If you are a cake novice, this is one for you – it’s very difficult to go wrong with this recipe!

I kept pretty much to the original recipe.  And if you want to know how to make the icing – check out my original post on the birthday cake – just adjust the amounts accordingly.

https://mrsjacksoncooks.wordpress.com/2011/05/22/hubbys-birthday-cake-chocolate-cherry-beer-cake/

I looked for stewed apple in the supermarket but couldn’t find any, so I made my own.  I just peeled, cored and chopped up 1 apple and put it in a pan with some water (enough to just about cover it) and sugar (2 tbsp) and let it stew on a low heat until the apple was quite mushy and the water pretty much evaporated.  Then I removed it from the heat and mushed it up some more with a fork before adding it to the cake mix.   I did this at the same time as making the cakes so it doesn’t take long.  I just stuck it on the heat before I started on the cakes and it was ready  by the time I’d melted the butter and weighed out my flour.

Apple, raisin and coffee cupcakes

Makes about 20 small ones, and probably 12 larger ones

  • 225g plain flour
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 75g unsalted butter
  • 175g brown sugar
  • 150g raisins (or sultanas, or currants – whatever you happen to have)
  • 1/2 cup coffee (either made with instant or brewed coffee)
  • 4-6 tbsp stewed apple
  • 3 cloves, ground
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 egg
  1. If stewing the apple yourself, put this on first
  2. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees celsius (I know the recipe says 160 but I found that they just weren’t cooking at this temperature and did much better at 180) and put some cupcake liners in a cupcake or muffin tin.
  3. Sift flour with bicarb soda and set aside.
  4. In a large saucepan add the butter, sugar, spices, raisins, (stewed apple if using tinned or pre made stewed apple) and coffee and set over a medium heat, stiring occasionally until the butter has melted.
  5. Remove from the heat and allow to cool (until lukewarm ish (test with your (clean!) little finger!), it doesn’t have to be totally cold but it needs to be cool enough that the heat won’t cook the egg immediately)
  6. If making your own stewed apple, it should have stewed by now and you can add it to the mix.
  7. Once it’s sufficiently cooled, lightly beat the egg and add to the mix, mixing it in well.
  8. Then add the flour and mix until well combined (I found it helpful to use a hand whisk at this stage to help prevent lumps forming) and smooth.
  9. Spoon the mix into the cupcake liners and bake in the middle of the oven for about 15 minutes or until a knife or metal skewer comes out clean from the centre of the cupcakes.
  10. Allow to cool slightly in the tin and then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely before adding the icing.
  11. Serve with a nice cup of tea or coffee or to your party guests.
Leave a Reply

