Mrs. Jackson Cooks

Life through food

The easiest homemade spicy burgers ever

on July 5, 2011

I must confess, I am a burger virgin. Not in the eating part, but in the making part. I had always been a bit scared. That they’d fall apart, taste horrible, would be difficult to make etc. But I’ve seen friends do it, so I thought I’d give it a go. And was pleasantly surprised to find so many recipes that included neither egg nor breadcrumbs. Not that I have a problem with eggs but I do with the breadcrumbs and I wasn’t sure if flour would be a good enough substitute.

I chose something deliberately easy with only a couple of extra ingredients and they were delicious – I was really happy with them. And they didn’t fall apart either. But next time I might be more adventurous, try some more spices and definitely some onions. But, if like me, you’re a bit scared, or short on time, or can’t be bothered with the food processor (or don’t own one), these are perfect.

I made two nicely chunky ones with this – just increase your ingredients accordingly.

My original inspiration came from this recipe, but I obviously didn’t make the whole thing, just the burgers. http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/2665/chilli-burger-with-roasted-tomatoes-and-red-onion-

Coriander and chilli burgers

Serves 2

  • 250g minced beef (I used lean steak mince but I think anything would work)
  • handful of chopped fresh coriander
  • 2 red small chillis finely chopped (de seed if you don’t want too spicy and use only 1)
  • salt and pepper
  1. Put the mince the chilli and the coriander along with some salt and pepper in a bowl and mix well with your hands until evenly combined.
  2. Take half the mixture and roll into a patty and then do the same with the rest of the mix.
  3. Refrigerate until needed
  4. Grill on the bbq until cooked through, or use your oven grill (if it rains, or you’re not actually having a bbq!).
  5. Enjoy with a tasty burger bun, some cheese and your favourite condiments 🙂
Leave a Reply

