Mrs. Jackson Cooks

Life through food

Colourful summer salad: sweet potato and feta

on July 26, 2011

I had a bit of a hedonistic girly weekend in London this weekend, and by Monday, was definitely feeling in need of some good clean nutrients in something that wasn’t going to aggravate me in any way – so no chilli or anything very acidic, and that was something I could make with the contents of my kitchen – I was not going anywhere!

I love food that’s really colourful (who doesn’t?! – maybe the compulsive obsessives of you that have to colour code your food…I do not envy you!) and you get a good range of nutrients, the more different colours you have.  I have no idea where I learnt that – maybe from weight watchers!  But different colours indicate different nutrients and I’ve forgotten which is what – all I remember is purple is anti-oxidants!

I found this recipe for a feta and sweet potato salad, which was perfect as I had feta and the sweet potatoes needed eating!  Also, no chilli and just a bit of balsamic vinegar for dressing, so it’s all quite ‘the day after the night before’ friendly.  I also made extra to take to work for lunch today, and actually, to my surprise, it tasted better for having sat about for a day!

The recipe is a bit fiddly because you boil the potatoes first and then you grill or bbq them.  I griddled them, just to be contrary.  But it’s worth the extra effort.  The sweet potatoes in this are delicious and go so well with the salty feta.

I also added tomatoes and cucumber because of the colour thing and used lettuce instead of spinach because I didn’t have any spinach.  I don’t think it suffered for my changes.  I did put in the full amount of dressing it indicated, and I would say – probably it’s a bit too tart – I’d go with 2 tbsp olive oil and 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar (for 3 servings) rather than 1 of oil and 3 of vinegar.  I’ve changed it in my version so you don’t have to worry.

But you can find the original here http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/4173/sweet-potato-and-feta-salad

In this you’ve got purple, orange, red and green – as well as some nuts and some lower fat cheese – so it’s all very healthy and nutritious!  But, in case you’re worried – it isn’t bland or boring or something you’d only eat on a diet.  This is good food – would I post anything else?!   I don’t believe in insipid horrid diet things.  I am a foodie!

Sweet potato and feta salad

Serves 3 (maybe 4-5 as a side salad)

  • 600g sweet potatoes, peeled and thinly sliced (but not so thin they don’t exist)
  • 4 tbsp pine nuts, toasted
  • 1 red onion, finely sliced
  • 15 cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 1/3 cucumber sliced
  • 150g feta cheese
  • 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp wholegrain mustard (or use other mustard, but less if its a strong one)
  • salt & pepper
  1. Boil the potato slices in hot water for 5 minutes until just starting to soften.  Then using the grill, bbq or a griddle pan, grill them until quite charcoaled and cooked.  You want the grill black lines on them at the very least!  Set aside.
  2. Combine the onion, tomato, cucumber, lettuce and pinenuts in a large bowl.
  3. Mix the dressing by whisking together the vinegar, oil, mustard and salt & pepper.  Pour over the vege mix and stir well.
  4. Add the feta to the salad and mix again.
  5. Either, leave in the fridge until needed or if serving immediately, pile the mix onto plates.
  6. Top with the sweet potato slices and serve with some farmhouse bread.
  7. Enjoy your colourful delight!
One response to “Colourful summer salad: sweet potato and feta

  1. livinglearningeating says:

    Pretty! I had a leftover stuffed pepper as part of my work lunch (http://livinglearningeating.wordpress.com/2011/07/28/slap-dash-cookery/) and I agree, especially with vegetarian food, letting food sit a day makes it taste even better – let those flavors meld!

Leave a Reply

