Mrs. Jackson Cooks

Life through food

Using up cooking apples: apple & cinnamon cake

on August 25, 2011

As promised – back to normal posting about cooking today.  But please, do keep sharing my previous blog about protect your bubble with everyone you know, so they don’t have to go through what I did.  Help me spread the word!  Here’s a link to that post http://bit.ly/qqHZ5c.  I’ve also set up a facebook page, so please show your support and like my page here https://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Stay-away-from-protect-your-bubble/

As you know from previous posts – I got a whole load of food my mother in law was getting rid of as she was going on holiday.  Including 6 large cooking apples.  I put a few in the pie and strudel, but I still had some left over (still do, in fact!).  And they were starting to go mouldy.   So, I had a flick through my Leith’s Simple Cookery book (to be found here http://www.amazon.co.uk/Leiths-Simple-Cookery-Jenny-Stringer/dp/074759046X/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1314104744&sr=8-1) and found an apple and cinnamon cake.

This was actually, as far as cakes go, pretty simple and quick to make, and exceedingly good (I might even be able to compete with Mr. Kipling!).  I just mixed everything with an electric whisk (I’d say if you don’t have any electrical appliances, this one will test you as you have to add the eggs and whisk pretty well to avoid curdling) and then stuck it in a cake tin.

I didn’t bother to ice the cake.  You could – perhaps a coffee buttercream might be nice?  I just sprinkled sugar over (icing sugar is best but I used caster as I didn’t have icing sugar) and some cinnamon and served with vanilla icecream. 

Without an icing, this is 351 calories per serving (if you cut it into 8 slices).  I reckon it would do 8 -10 slices.   If you did 10 slices it would be 281 calories.  Either way, it’s not mega calories for a very delicious cake, so you don’t need to feel guilty eating it, which always helps!

Apple & cinnamon cake

Serves 8 -10

  • 170g unsalted butter
  • 170g caster sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 170g cooking apples, peeled, cored and grated
  • 2 tbsp ground cinnamon
  • 170g self-raising flour
  1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees celsius.  Grease a medium sized round (or oblong) cake tin and set aside.
  2. Beat the butter in a large bowl until softened.  Then add the sugar and beat again until pale and fluffy.
  3. Next carefully add an egg at a time, beating well to mix after each one.  If the mix starts to curdle, add 1 tbsp flour.
  4. Then add the grated apple, and mix to combine before adding the flour and cinnamon together, mixing again to combine.
  5. You want the mixture to be a reluctant dropping consistency.  if it’s too thick, add a splash of milk. 
  6. Turn into your cake tin and bake in the middle of the oven for 1 hour, or until a knife comes out clean from the middle of the cake.
  7. Allow to cool in the tin before turning onto a wire rack.
  8. sprinkle with icing sugar and some more cinnamon and serve with a lovely cup of tea
  9. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

