Mrs. Jackson Cooks

Life through food

Easy peasy tapas: chorizo and chickpeas

on September 4, 2011

In case you hadn’t noticed, I’m off on holiday to Ibiza soon. I’m pretty excited – we’ve had this booked since March – so it’s been a long time coming! Normally I’m a last minute kinda gal, but when it’s a holiday for 6, some planning is required! I so need some sun, sea, cocktails and fun. My last fling before winter sets in 😦

Anyway, in anticipation of my holiday, my thoughts turned to Spanish food – tapas and paella. I’ve always been a bit put off making tapas because it seemed a bit fiddly and hard work for just two people. But I’m thinking I should maybe do it for friends sometime. I’ve also realised my tapas recipe book is pretty much useless. It may be traditionally correct, but I’m never going to go to the lengths it suggests to make some tapas!

So, in search of something quick and nutritious to eat (hubby has decided he had to have pizza, and I can’t eat real pizza!), so I thought I’d make myself some chorizo and chickpea tapas. It was simple, quick and delicious. Warming and cold banishing – which was good as I have a horrid cold!

The recipe I ended up using is a slight variation on the traditional Spanish one, but I’m sure no Spanish cooks will be horrified! The one I used can be found here http://www.cookeryclub.co.uk/recipe/708/chorizo-and-chickpea-fry-tapas-recipe

I think, possibly the only ingredients I used that they didn’t, was some paprika and potatoes- because as you know – paprika, cinnamon and turmeric improve heart health and I never miss out on an opportunity to add them now I know that! The potatoes were just for some carbs, as I don’t eat bread. And at 300 calories per serving, it’s a good diet dinner too.

Chorizo & Chickpea Tapas or Garbanzos y Chorizo

Serves 2 (or possibly 4-6 with other tapas)

  • 4-5 salad potatoes, cut into chunks and boiled until cooked
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 onion, finely sliced
  • 1 pepper (red or green), finely sliced
  • 100g chorizo sausage
  • 1 garlic clove, finely chopped
  • 1 tin chickpeas
  • pinch of saffron
  • 1 tbsp water
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • salt & pepper
  1. Heat the oil in a frying pan on a medium heat. Add the onion and pepper and fry gently until softened.
  2. Add the chorizo and fry until it releases its juices and starts to go crispy.
  3. Tumble in the chickpeas, potatoes and the garlic, stir well to combine in the juices.
  4. Dissolve the saffron in the water and pour over the mixture.
  5. Add the paprika, salt & pepper to taste.
  6. Stir well and serve with some country bread or baguette
  7. Enjoy the hearty goodness 🙂
Leave a Reply

