Mrs. Jackson Cooks

Life through food

Midweek autumn warmer: fast beef stew

on October 20, 2011

This is a cheat’s recipe.  It uses steak pieces instead of stewing beef to reduce the amount of time you need to cook it for.  But it means its a perfect midweek meal for a suddenly cold autumnal day – which it was yesterday (and today for that matter!).  I have finally succumbed and turn the heating on!  I was hoping to hold out til the clocks went back but I was too cold!  Also, my lovely hubby bought me a le crueset cast iron casserole dish, so of course, it had to be christened!

Don’t use good steak – use something like frying steak or a cheap piece of rump steak or something.  I firmly believe good steak should be served with fat chips and a nice sauce of some sort!

This is quite a basic recipe, but you could really add anything you like to it both vegetable wise and herbs or flavours wise.  I think some garlic in it would be good, perhaps even some chillis.  You could also add mushrooms or beans or something too.

I found the original recipe on my epicurious app and here it is online http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Beef-Stew-with-Stout-1936.  It is really quite delicious and very easy and quick to make.  I served it with some mash.  But it would go just as well with new potatoes or chips or rice or whatever really.

Quick beef stew

Serves 3 (ish)

  • 20g butter
  • 4 small onions, halved (or quartered if slightly larger, or use a large onion and chop into chunks)
  • 2 large carrots chopped into chunks
  • 450g beef steak (frying steak, rump steak, or other cheap steak cut – not stewing beef though), chopped into small cubes
  • 1 tbsp plain flour
  • 200ml beef stock
  • 120ml Guinness or other stout
  • 2 tomatoes, choppped (optional – I added as they needed eating)
  • 100g frozen peas, defrosted
  • handful of chopped fresh parsley
  • salt & pepper
  1. Heat a large saucepan or hob friendly casserole dish and melt the butter in it.  When its sizzling, add the onions and carrots and cook for a few minutes until they soften.
  2. Add the beef and cook until browned on all sides.
  3. Add the flour, stir well to mix into the pot.  Cook for a further minute.
  4. Add the stock and Guinness and bring to the boil.
  5. Add the tomatoes and peas, reducing the pot to a simmer and covering.
  6. Simmer for about 15 minutes or until the carrots and beef are cooked through.
  7. Stir through the parsley and add the seasoning.
  8. Serve immediately with a large dollop of mash and enjoy your hearty warming fast cooked stew!
2 responses to “Midweek autumn warmer: fast beef stew

  1. Kara says:

    This recipe sounds great. I don’t agree with you though about using cheap meat. Next time you make it, you should try using grass fed beef and see if you can tell the difference. When I switched I was amazed at the difference in flavor as opposed to grain fed beef. If you are interested, check out the La Cense Beef website. They have lots of great information to learn from.

    • Hi, thanks for your comment. As I’m in England, I’m not sure it’s practical to get beef from the US! Also, if I were to eat organic meat from the UK, I’d imagine they’d be eating grass – you see quite a few of them out in the fields in the countryside eating grass. I think its impractical to assume that everyone can afford expensively reared meat so having an option that can use cheaper cuts of meat makes it more accessible for people. And as it happened I did use organic beef locally reared and bought from a local butcher – I just used a cheaper cut rather than sirloin steak as it’s in a stew.

Leave a Reply

