Mrs. Jackson Cooks

Life through food

Aloo Gobi Anda: Potato, cauliflower and egg curry

on January 5, 2012

20120103-104805 AM.jpg

I ordered veges from my local farm delivery company for Christmas, to make things that bit easier for me. And they put a cauliflower in the box. As you know, I’m not a fan of cauliflower so it’s been languishing in the box for the past couple of weeks whilst I thought about what to do with it.

And then I found this recipe http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/1436/cauliflower-egg-and-potato-curry

It said that even cauliflower haters would be convinced, so I thought I’d put it to the test and see. I love egg curry, so that’s a good start. And it’s a vege curry, which is always handy for the January detox. Eggs are wonderful. I absolutely love them and probably eat far too many of them! But they’re a great source of protein and energy whilst still being low in calories and high in good fats. And now I get them from a lovely lady that has a farm – they’re even better than ever!

The one downside to this recipe is the coconut milk. It’s very high in fats and calories – but it you use reduced fat and as you’re only having 1/4 of a can, it shouldn’t be too bad. For the curry paste I used a Pataks Jalfrezi one. I don’t think it really matters what one you use, although you’ll get a slightly different flavour depending on the paste. I was wondering about making my own but since I had an open jar in the fridge, I figured I may as well use it.

Aloo Gobi Anda

Serves 4

2 tbsp sunflower (or vegetable) oil

1 large onion, finely chopped

2 garlic cloves, minced

a piece of root ginger, peeled and grated

1 small red chilli, finely chopped (de seed if you don’t want it too spicy)

2 large potatoes, peeled and cut into small cubes

1 tbsp curry paste

1 medium cauliflower, chopped into florets

1 can reduced fat coconut milk

6 hard boiled eggs, peeled and halved

2 tbsp toasted chopped almonds

handful of chopped fresh coriander

  1. Heat the oil in a large pan or wok on a high heat. Add the onion and fry until it starts to brown. Then add the garlic, ginger and chilli along with 1/2 tsp of salt. Fry for a further couple of minutes.
  2. Then add the potato. Fry for a few minutes until the potato starts to soften. Then add the curry paste. Stir well to mix and coat the potatoes.
  3. Then add the cauliflower. Fry for a few minutes, mixing well to coat in the mixture.
  4. Then add the coconut milk. Bring to the boil, then reduce to a low simmer and cover.
  5. Simmer until the sauce is nice and thick and the potato and cauliflower are cooked through.
  6. Stir through the almonds and coriander.
  7. Serve with the egg halves piled on top and some naan or plain rice.
  8. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

