Mrs. Jackson Cooks

Life through food

Moroccan spiced pork with apple salad

on February 13, 2012

20120213-121725 PM.jpg

I am sat at work twiddling my thumbs (well playing crazy eights actually!) because I’ve had a new system installed which has upset my computer. I was just thinking I should write a blog tonight when as I was flicking through pics I realised I hadn’t told you about the Moroccan pork chops.

So as I can’t actually work I thought I’d blog.

These are quick, delicious and easy peasy to make. Also quite low in calories and carb free if you’re not eating carbs at night. If you are eating carbs i served with crushed potatoes (new potatoes very badly mashed). You may even find them kiddy friendly. I’m not overly keen on sweet salads but I used a tart apple and really enjoyed it.

Comes from bbc good food (of course) but I can’t be bothered to find the link on my phone.

Moroccan spiced pork
Serves 2

2 pork chops
3 tbsp ras el hanout spice mix
1 tsp chilli powder (leave out if you don’t want heat)
4 tbsp olive oil

For the salad:
1 apple thinly sliced
2 celery sticks sliced on diagonal
1/2 red onion very thinly sliced
1 tbsp whole grain mustard
3 tbsp white wine vinegar
1 shallot finely chopped
1 garlic clove minced
Small handful of coriander and mint leaves finely chopped
Salt & pepper

1. Mix the spice mix and chilli powder with the olive oil and smear on the pork. Leave to marinade for 20 mins or longer
2. Preheat the grill on high
3. Meanwhile make the salad by putting the apple, red onion and celery in a bowl and mixing well.
4. Make the dressing by whisking together the mustard, vinegar, shallot, garlic, salt & pepper and herbs. Pour over the salad and toss to mix.
5. Grill the pork chops for about 5-10 minutes each side or until cooked through, basting with the marinade.
6. Serve with the salad in the middle of the plate topped with the pork
7. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

