Mrs. Jackson Cooks

Life through food

Bikini diet-friendly midweek meal: Angry Chicken

on May 22, 2012

20120522-020248 PM.jpg

I’m sorry for the general lack of posting – life is a bit hectic so I keep forgetting. Plus I’ve been cooking things I’ve already blogged about. I do keep meaning to blog more about restaurants and cafes but I forget! Will be my mid-year resolution!

In any case because I’ve started a new job and I’ve got bad hayfever, I’ve been not getting active as much as I should be really. So I need to lose some weight. This week is diet and exercise week. It started well – I went to spinning class last night and then ate this delicious Italian meal that I got ready when I got home, and just had a shower whilst it simmered. It’s perfect post exercise as it’s full of low fat protein in the chicken and low in carbs.

This came from my Italian Comfort Food cookbook by Julia Della Croce. Sounds full of calories but actually food can be comforting and low in calories and quick to cook too! Perfection. I checked it out – there’s 435 calories per serving in my version of this recipe. I ate it without bread but Mr J had some pannini with it. I didn’t feel like I needed to eat more after it, it was very filling. I added olives to the original recipe, but you could substitute this for aubergine chunks or sliced mushrooms quite easily – just add these both before you add the chicken back to the pan, and allow them to fry for a couple of minutes.

Angry Chicken

Serves 2

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 4 skinless chicken thighs (bone in)
  • 1 small onion chopped into wedges
  • 3 garlic cloves crushed
  • 3 whole dried chillis or 1tsp chilli flakes
  • 1 tbsp chopped fresh rosemary or 1 tsp dried
  • 1 tin plum or chopped tomatoes
  • 100ml chicken stock
  • handful of green olives, drained
  • salt & pepper to taste
  1. Heat the oil in a large high sided frying pan or wok on a medium heat. Fry the chicken on both sides until golden. About 15 minutes
  2. Remove the chicken from the pan and drain on kitchen roll.
  3. Add the onion, garlic, chillis and rosemary to the pan, cooking until the onion is softened but not browned.
  4. Add the chicken back in, followed by the tomatoes and chicken stock.
  5. Stir well, breaking up the tomatoes with the spatula.
  6. Bring to the boil, then reduce to a low simmer. Add the olives in and season well. Allow to cook slowly until the sauce is thick and well reduced and the chicken cooked through (about 20 minutes- perfect shower time).
  7. Serve immediately on its own or with garlic bread to dip in the sauce.
  8. Enjoy 🙂
Leave a Reply

