Mrs. Jackson Cooks

Life through food

Totally delicious low calorie flapjacks

on April 22, 2013

20130422-034850 PM.jpg

Having put on quite a bit of weight over the past few months due to my life being a bit chaotic and unpredictable, I’ve decided to try and be healthier and lose a few pounds.

But I need to wean myself off the sugar and carbs slowly as I’m not up for shock tactics. So I thought if I could make flapjacks that are low in refined things and sugar and high in energy boosting things then it would be a good start to cutting down.

I found this recipe here http://cakeincardiff.wordpress.com/2012/10/29/low-calorie-flapjacks/ I’ve heard lots about the hairy bikers diet book – think I’m going to have to get sometime. I do like the Hairy Bikers, their recipes are very doable.

I made 16 flapjacks and adapted the recipe slightly. I worked out that each square has 88 calories so it’s a great diet snack as it’s under the 100 calorie mark, high in fibre and energy boosting oats, low in sugar, got a bit of fruit in it and even some nuts for protein.

And I’ve tried them – they’re delicious, so easy to make – I put it all together in about 5 mins and then shoved it in the oven until cooked. Requires virtually no equipment and you can adapt it anyway you like – use honey instead of maple syrup, substitute some oats for rice crispies, put in any dried fruit and nuts that you like, use any juice you want…and the bonus is – no sweetener in sight – this doesn’t feel like a diet snack. On top of that – these are really purse friendly. Even if you don’t have the ingredients in stock, they’re not expensive to buy – all these ingredients are in most supermarkets’ value ranges – just adapt to whatever you can find.

Cranberry & hazelnut flapjacks

16 squares

  • 200g rolled (porridge) oats
  • 300ml orange or apple juice
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup, honey or golden syrup
  • 60g dried cranberries (or apricots, dates, mixed peel – any dried fruit)
  • 60g raisins (sultanas, currants, whatever)
  • 30g hazelnuts, toasted and chopped (or any nuts)
  1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees celsius
  2. Put the juice and syrup in a pan and heat until it starts to simmer.
  3. Add in the oats and mix well until completely combined (there shouldn’t be juice left it should be absorbed)
  4. Take off the heat and add in the fruit and nuts.
  5. Mix well to combine then turn into a greased baking tray. Push it all out until it fills the corners of the tray and then push down hard so its very compacted (fingers are good for this).
  6. Bake in the oven for about 40 minutes or until golden and crispy on top.
  7. Remove from the oven, cut into squares whilst still warm (I used a pizza roller thingy but I knife will do). Leave to cool in the tin.
  8. Turn out and enjoy the fruity chewiness without feeling guilty 🙂

One response to “Totally delicious low calorie flapjacks

  1. Just stuck these in the oven and am waiting for the result!
    Thank you for your recipe, it was so quick and easy 😀

Leave a comment