Mrs. Jackson Cooks

Life through food

Easy lunchbox ideas: prawn and avocado pasta salad

on July 18, 2011

Again, I apologise, I’ve been somewhat absent.  I’ve not been making too many blog worthy things, or when I have, they’re old favourites I’ve already blogged about.  But, I’ve got a few new ones lined up now, so have no fear, I am back.  Promise – and I’ll keep it this time.

This is a nice simple summer lunch, for taking to work, or eating in your garden, whichever you prefer.  I found that the avocado stayed nice even though I made it in the morning and took it to work.  But if you’re worried, an easy trick I learnt from making guacamole is, to keep the stone from the avocado and leave it in your salad.  It keeps it looking green and not going brown!  Just take it out before serving.

If you are vege or are makin for vege people, you could just take out the prawns and replace with a salad cheese such as feta or halloumi (grill it first) or goats cheese.  Or use peanuts or cashews instead.  The options are endless!

The original recipe comes from my 500 Italian recipes cookbook, which you can find here http://www.amazon.co.uk/Italys-500-Best-ever-Recipes-Photographs/dp/1780190433/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1310987339&sr=8-4.  But as always, I’ve adapted it, so there’s no need to fear the wrath of copyright law!  But I’d highly recommend this cookbook.  It’s got loads of great recipes in it from every day pasta dishes to roasts and bbqs and desserts.  And all very doable.  Nothing super complex.

Prawn and avocado pasta salad

Serves 2

  • 110g pasta shapes
  • 12 cooked king prawns (or just chuck in the pasta to cook when its nearly done)
  • 1 avocado
  • 5 pieces of grilled marinaded pepper, sliced
  • 2 red chillis, finely chopped
  • handful of chopped fresh coriander
  • handful of chopped fresh basil
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp mayonnaise
  • salt & pepper
  1. Boil the pasta in water until cooked.  Then drain and refresh under cold water until cooled.  Set aside until needed.
  2. Meanwhile, mix the dressing by combining the olive oil, mayonnaise, lemon juice, chilli and half the chopped herbs.  Whisk to combine then season to taste.
  3. Add the avocado, prawns and peppers to the pasta and mix well.
  4. Stir over the dressing, mixing well then add the remaining herbs, mix again and leave in the fridge for at least 15 minutes for it absorb the flavours.
  5. Serve with some garlic bread and a glass of white wine
  6. Enjoy!

Leave a comment